Teton GOP

Friday, March 24, 2017
By John Spina
Jackson Hole Daily

GOP Names County Leaders

While Teton County Democrats elected a group of young leaders March 11 in hopes of injecting the party with new energy, Teton County Republicans elected a more experienced group Wednesday night, focused on promoting conservation, fiscal accountability and respect for individual freedoms.

Replacing Tote Turner as chairman is Teton County Commissioner Paul Vogelheim. Nikki Gill, a candidate for county commissioner last fall and one of the younger members of Republican leadership, will serve as vice chairwoman. Wyoming State Sen. Leland Christensen, of Alta, and Lisa Price will serve as the state committeeman and -woman.

“As the state continues to feel the crunch of the energy downturn, ensuring Teton County has strong Republican leadership both locally and in Cheyenne is more important than ever,” Christensen said. “Paul understands the importance of broadening our base here in Teton County, recruiting new talent and ensuring Teton County has a seat at the table in tackling relevant state and national issues. He’ll do a terrific job as chair.”

Teton County was the only county in Wyoming that Hillary Clinton won in the 2016 presidential election. She got 7,313 votes to President Trump’s 3,920, according to Jackson Hole News&Guide election reporting. Teton County also voted overwhelmingly for Democratic U.S. House candidate Ryan Greene, but Republican Liz Cheney won the race statewide.

Vogelheim has served on the Teton County Board of County Commissioners since 2008 and served as the chairman of the board. He was the 2016 recipient of the Wyoming County Commissioner Association’s Commissioner of the Year and serves as chairman of the group’s revenue committee. He also serves on the boards of the Community Foundation of Jackson Hole, ConservAmerica, Jackson Hole Air and Jackson Hole Friends of Scouting, and was one of the founders of the Jackson Hole Food Cupboard.

After being elected chairman of the county Republicans, Vogelheim released a draft of guiding party principles for consideration and debate. The three central pillars of the proposal are fiscal accountability and economic vibrancy, conservation and public access, and respect and compassion for individual freedoms.

“There is no question our community faces a number of serious challenges,” Vogelheim said. “Be it meeting our workforce housing goals, addressing our transportation needs or protecting wildlife and open spaces, Teton County Republicans are committed to working on — and delivering — solutions.”

The party’s executive committee will consist of former chairwoman of the Board of County Commissioners Barbara Allen, Town Attorney Audrey Cohen-Davis, former county commissioner candidate Trey Davis, Teton County Deputy Attorney Keith Gingery, Teton County Deputy Prosecutor Becket Hinckley, former county commissioner Paul Perry and Kristin Walker, founder of Three Elephant Public Relations and the former campaign manager for Christensen’s 2016 primary campaign for the U.S. House of Representative and Sen. Mike Enzi’s 2013 U.S. Senate campaign.

“Conservation and responsible land stewardship are key conservative values shared today in Teton County,” said Allen, who is also the president of Jackson Hole Trout Unlimited. “We have an obligation to protect and preserve our public lands, waters and wildlife populations for our generation and those to come. Republicans in Teton County have been at the forefront of doing just that for decades. That’s a legacy we are committed to preserving.”

Link to Article: http://www.jhnewsandguide.com/jackson_hole_daily/local/gop-names-county-leaders/article_77002763-6f6a-5967-86cb-86d179685d0b.html


Paid for and authorized by the Teton County Republican Party, Teton County, WY
Copyright © 2018 - Teton County Republican Party - All rights reserved - Powered by Blue Sky Tech